Created in 1995, the NAMME Scholarship is awarded annually to underrepresented minority students who have completed the first year of health professions training. Nominated students are selected based upon their academic record, community service, financial need, personal statement and letters of recommendation. Eight $1,000 scholarships are awarded annually.

Eligibility 2015:

To be considered for the NAMME National Scholarship, an applicant must:

      • Be nominated by a regular NAMME member in good fiscal standing.
      • Be an underrepresented ethnic minority (American Indian/Alaskan Native, Asian, Black/African American, Hispanic/Latino, Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander*). *Designations consistent with NAMME, Inc. Mission Statement
      • Be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident.
      • Be currently enrolled in an accredited health professional school or program where they are in good academic standing and have completed at least the first professional year of training. Undergraduate or Graduate Allied Health Profession students who have completed at least 1 semester or 2 quarters in their undergraduate or graduate allied health program are eligible to apply.
      • Professional students must have a minimum grade point average of 3.0, if the curriculum is graded. If the curriculum is Pass/Fail, the student must be passing all coursework. Undergraduate or graduate allied health students must have a minimum grade point average of 3.0.


Criteria for Selection:

The NAMME National Scholarship Committee will make up to eight (8) awards on the basis of:

      • Documented financial need
      • Academic achievement
      • Community service
      • Personal statement/essay
      • Letters of recommendation
      • Recommendation forms


Number and Amount of Scholarship:

Up to eight (8) scholarships for $1000.00 each.


Application Deadline:

Applications must be received by the National Scholarship Chair by June 12th, 2015.  Application materials must be sent under one cover (no partially completed applications or copies please).  Application packets not containing all required materials will be disqualified.


Selection of Candidates:

The completed application and supporting documentation should be forwarded to the National Scholarship Chair for review by the National Scholarship Committee.  The Committee will select up to eight (8) recipients and present their recommended recipients to the National Board of NAMME for approval.  Recipients will receive a Notice of Award from the National Scholarship Chair in July 2015.


For more information contact the Scholarship Chair.


Past Award Recipients


Central Erika Johnson Indiana University
School of Optometry
Northeast Kathlene Babalola University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Byron Hughes Georgetown University
School of Medicine
Southern Priscilla Mspai Virginia Commonwealth University
School of Medicine
Jaclyn Tucker UT Southwestern Medical Center
Yoko Young Sang FIU Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine
Western Renata Ahegbebu USC School of Pharmacy
Sheila Lau Keck School of Medicine of USC


Central Ayodele Oke University of Illinois at Chicago
College of Medicine
Jennifer Ray Saint Louis University
School of Medicine
Kanika Turner Saint Louis University
School of Medicine
Southern Collin Rice Virginia Commonwealth University School of Dentistry
Western Henry Delu University of Southern California School of Pharmacy
Folayemi Fashola University of Southern California School of Pharmacy
Brandi Lewis UCLA School of Dentistry
Jennifer Pinto Western University of Health Sciences

Copyright © 2014 National Association of Medical Minority Educators, Inc.
Back to Top