NAMME

Region_western

Welcome to the Western Region

The Western Region is composed of the following: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Wyoming and Washington State.

Visit Western Region Site

REGIONAL DIRECTOR

Thomas Landefeld, PhD
tlandefeld@csudh.edu
310-243-3528
CA State University – Dominquez Hills

Regional News

The WRNAMME held its Spring meeting at the time of the WAAHP Conference, i.e. 4/23-26 in San Diego, the title of which was Borders and Boundaries (Note–The WAAHP met in conjunction with the WGEA/WGSA/WOSR groups). The focus of our WRNAMME meeting was to discuss ways to increase membership for the region and as a part of that discussion discuss expanding our “minority constituencies” to include LGBTAOI, Undocumented individuals, as well as other underserved and underrepresented in medicine (and society). We had several individuals from the other groups attending the Conference come to our meeting to learn more about NAMME, in hopes of expanding our membership.
Just as a note, the two sessions at the conference dealing with Diversity were those involving our WRNAMME members. Relevant to that, it is the hope that NAMME members who are also NAAHP members will be sure to submit abstracts to the National NAAHP Conference, which is held every other year with the next one in 2016.

Board Member

Director – Thomas Landefeld, PhD
CA State University – Dominquez
(310) 243-3528
tlandefeld@csudh.edu

Secretary– Robin Johnson
University Recruiter
Office of University Recruitment and
Strategic Enrollment Management
(909) 706-3530
rjohnson@westernu.edu

Treasurer-Charles Alexander
Associate Vice Provost for Student Diversity
Director, Academic Advancement Program
Associate Adjunct Professor
(310) 206-1551
calexander@college.ucla.edu

Budget & Finance Chair– Janice Moreland
Dr. Flowers Test Prep, LLC
414- 975- 7990 |(866) 596-0186
janice@drflowersprep.com

Membership Chair– Winona Lee
University of Hawaii Jabsom
(808) 692-1035
winonal@hawaii.edu

Scholarship– Katherine Flores
UCSF Fresno Latino CenterMER
559-241-7670
kflores@fresno.ucsf.edu

Copyright © 2014 National Association of Medical Minority Educators, Inc.
Back to Top